Health and Independence – Goals

Hi all! I want to start this post by shouting out someone very special to my blog: shatterthefourthwall, a fellow WordPress blogger. They gave me my very first comment on my Small Town Life post and have been liking things like crazy. You can check out their website here. They post really interesting and somewhat random things and are really funny. Thanks for the support! I shall frame my very first comment and hang it on my wall.

Okay, now down to business. I’m about to put my money where my mouth is as they say and bring some meaning to my last post about health and independence. It’s one thing to say that you’re going to try to be healthy, but it’s another thing to actually do it. I wanted to outline what my actual goals for this were so I can have concrete results to share with you guys throughout my journey.

Goals:

To reduce bloated feelings. Since the last month of school this year, I’ve been feeling bloated more often than not. After much googling, I’ve narrowed down the probable causes to: IBS (TMI, sorry), food intolerance, and a sedentary lifestyle. Considering the fact that this feeling started just as finals started, I think it’s more likely to be a result of my sedentary lifestyle. I don’t really move during finals. And since moving away from home and getting a desk job, I still don’t really move that much. So hopefully this new exercise and healthy eating lifestyle will help.

To mitigate comedogenic acne. I’ve also got a bunch of tiny little bumps on my forehead that flare avery time I eat badly. Go figure. I’m not 100% sure it’s comedogenic acne but that’s what google said and we all know that google is always right.

To lose weight. I’m by no means fat. I’ll be frank with you guys and tell you that last time I checked my stats, I was 5 feet and 5 inches tall and weighed in at approximately 135 pounds. I’ve since gained a little weight (in the ball park of 5 pounds-ish) as a result of the aforementioned sedentary lifestyle. I’m hoping to go back to my normal weight of 130 pounds. We’ll see. I’m honestly not too concerned about my weight as long as the next point is met.

To get toned af. The ultimate goal is to have a butt that I can bounce quarters off of (lol). And the coveted elevens. You know, the abs that are sexy but not to intimidating. See picture below.

abs

Toning the rest of my body would be cool too. I could do with the Michelle Obama arms.

To build a habit. The ultimate goal though is to build a lifelong habit that I can pass on the my children in the future. I don’t want them to have a weakness for fizzy drinks and pancakes like I do.

So, these are the goals I plan on achieving. I’ve put an unofficial timeline of six weeks on this journey and I’ll try to give weekly updates. Unfortunately, I will not be sharing pictures of myself during this journey. I don’t know if you can tell, but I don’t fancy putting myself on the internet. My brain and my thoughts are fair game, but not my face or any part of my body. For now at least. I’ll mainly be sharing my progress through the art form that is descriptive imagery. Now, I know what some of you are thinking: “she could just be lying to us.” This is very true. I could just be lying. But I won’t because what’s the point? I have no other guarantees so you’re just going to have to trust me.

In the interest of total transparency, I’ll tell you that I had about five bowls of Froot Loops just before I wrote this. I blame it on period cravings.

-Michelle

3 thoughts on “Health and Independence – Goals

  1. Oh wow! Thank you for the shout out, that’s way too kind! Haha now I wish I had commented something more interesting. I only ever follow blogs if I know I’ll read most (if not all) posts that come on and keep enjoying them. Yours was definitely one of them 🙂 Always look forward to more! Thank you again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

