Small Town Life

So, I had this nice post all ready for you guys. It told you all about my adjustment to living on my own and working a full time job. But I went out today at the butt crack of dawn (it was really just 8 o’clock but let me be dramatic) to go get my driver’s license exchanged and came to a realization.

I hate small town life.

Okay, let me rephrase that. I don’t hate it, I just find it incredibly inconvenient and irritating. I moved from a relatively metropolitan city where businesses are open until 8, 9 o’clock most days (of course it depends on where) and you are almost guaranteed to find them open on Saturday. In this town however, hardly anywhere is open after 5. 6 if you’re lucky. Isn’t that ridiculous?! I left my house to go to the driver’s license place today (Saturday) and they weren’t even open. Because they don’t open on weekends. What kind of place that caters to teens and working people doesn’t open on the weekend?! When else are working people and students supposed to get anything done? Even worse, because I can’t drive my car because I don’t have a license, I had to take an Uber (I missed the bus). I spent $30 dollars to go on a drive around this stupid town and accomplish nothing.

I don’t mean to offend people who live in small towns. In fact, I commend you. I don’t know how you can deal with this laziness (as I like to call it) and inconvenience. It’s insanely annoying. This isn’t the first time this has happened to me either. I went to the mall at 5:50ish one Saturday and found out that they closed at 6. The mall. Closed. At 6 pm. On Saturday. Seriously? People start going to the mall at 6 on Saturday, you can’t just close! I don’t know if I’m conveying my annoyance well enough through text but trust me, I am very annoyed. So if you live in a small town, kudos because after this internship, I’m kissing small town life goodbye.

Oh, I forgot to mention that this ‘town’ isn’t even that small. There are like 180,000 people here. I can’t even imagine what it’d be like in a real small town.

If I had any doubts about all my dreams to live in a big city, they’re gone now. That’s one good thing that comes out of this. I now know that I’ll try my best to live in the hustle and bustle of a big city. I’ll be cliché and say New York, San Fransisco, Seattle, Toronto, London. Those are places I can see myself living. Not at a place that closes their mall at 6.

There are some benefits of living here though. I’ll be sure to let you know when I experience them lol.

Am I the only one with this mentality? If you’re reading this, let me know how to survive a small town. Also, am I just being snobby or are my annoyances reasonable?

NOTE: I will still be posting an update on living on my own and working a full time job. I just have to re-write them. Stay tuned.

-Michelle

7 thoughts on “Small Town Life

      1. Oh nah, I live in London but when visiting family I do kind of hit the boring end where there are NO shopping centres at all and just these famer’s markets and corner stores. Mind-numbingly boring with no entertainment but some old dingy pubs full of old bearded men. Not cool. But since you’ll be out of there soon, good times ahead right?

        Like

Leave a Reply

